UK REACH : UK REACH: What’s New in ’22 !

Time & Location

Wednesday: 14.00 to 15.00, Stage 1

Guest panellist:

Simon JohnsonEU Exit Team: Chemicals and Pesticides - Defra

About this session:


UK REACH : Implementations and Implications

Running on both days, bringing together a daily balanced panel drawn from government/gov agency , industry, association, legal & NGO sources, the UK REACH panel will seek to address this hugely topical and sensitive issue for attending manufacturers, distributors as well as downstream formulator industries, pharma to automotive and other key chemical-user industry groups.

Each panel session provides an opportunity to hear contrasting perspectives from panellists around this key topic, seeking to address ‘real concerns’ from across the industry as well as reflecting day to day sector practicalities. Opening up then into an open Q&A , audience participants get the chance to get up to the minute latest feedback from expert industry panellists.

Panellists for WED 15th Sept currently include:

  • Neil Hollis, Regulatory Affairs Manager – BASF plc  (Panel Host)_
  • Nishma Patel, Policy Director – Chemical Industries Association (CIA)
  • Mel Biring, Global Product Regulatory Advocacy Manager – LUBRIZOL
  • Darren Abraham, Partner at Steptoe and Johnson LLP
  • Lara Dickens, Managing Director – Chemservice
  • Simon Johnson, Head of Chemicals Stakeholder Communications and Engagement Team – Defra
  • Ciara Dempsey, Regulatory Affairs Manager, British Coatings Federation (BCF)

Check website for latest programme update

Panellist Bio

Simon Johnson is a career civil servant in Defra. In previous jobs over the last ten years he has been a senior policy adviser working on regional and local food strategies; international trade and the circular economy. All of which involved working closely with counterparts within the EU and at a global level. Since November 2016 Simon has been working in the Chemical, Pesticides and Hazardous Waste Team in which he heads up the Internal and Cross-Whitehall Stakeholder Engagement and Communications Team.