2023 Speakers

Thursday 10.00to11.00 Stage 2
Jenny Barnett

Jenny Barnett SHEQ Manager - F. Ball and Company Ltd

Dr. Liz Fletcher

Dr. Liz Fletcher Director of Business Engagement and Operations, Industrial Biotechnology Innovation Centre (IBiolC)

Thursday: 11.00to12.00 Stage 5
Session Host: Kirsty Mawhinney

Move to Bio-based: cross sectoral transitions

Session Host: Kirsty Mawhinney Director CCUK, Sustainability Pillar Lead

Judi Beerling

Technical Director - Pertech Associates Ltd

Lawrence Clarke

Technical Sales Manager - Holiferm

Rachael Davison

Technical Services Manager - Barentz EMEA

Narinder Bains

Managing Director - Ineuvo

Melanie Geer

Business Development Manager – Formulation - CPI

Wednesday: 10.00to11.00 Stage 1
BASA – The British Adhesives & Sealants Association

Featured Speakers:

George Atkinson

Head of Policy -Valpak

Lorna Williams

Executive Officer and General Secretary, British Adhesives & Sealants Association.

Dr. Geoff Mackey

UK Country Manager – Plastics Europe

Caroline Raine

Independent Consultant

Wednesday 10.00to10.40 Stage 2
Solvents Industry Association

Solvents, Sustainability & NetZero

Solvents Industry Association General Secretary - Solvents Industry Association

Session Host/Joint Speakers

Andrew Norman

Hosted by Solvents Industry Association (SIA)

Stuart Barker

Head of Business Development, Tradebe Chemicals

Emmanuel Ehenemba

Technical and Product Quality Manager, TotalEnergies Marketing UK, Special Fluids

Wednesday 11.00to12.00 Stage 2

Commercial manufacture of existing chemicals using bio-based process

IBioIC Session Chair - Dr. Liz Fletcher, Director of Business Engagement and Operations, Industrial Biotechnology Innovation Centre (IBioIC)

Dr. Liz Fletcher

Director of Business Engagement and Operations, Industrial Biotechnology Innovation Centre (IBiolC)

Dr. Beatriz Domínguez

Technical Manager – Biotechnology, Johnson Matthey

Dr Simon Grant

Project Manager at Thomas Swan & Co. Ltd

Jim Woodger

Managing Director, LanzaTech UK Ltd

Panel Host -Tony Heslop

Senior Sustainability Manager, BASF PLC

Wednesday: 13.30to15.00 Stage 2
Innovate UK KTN

Dr. Catherine Mort

Knowledge Transfer Manager, Industrial Biotechnology - Innovate UK KTN

Amy Elliott Peace

Innovation Lead - Circular Economy at Innovate UK

Dr Alastair Sanderson

Unilever - Flue2Chem

Dr Holly A. Reeve

CEO and Co-founder of HydRegen Limited

Dr. Patrick Dodds

Chief Executive Officer and Founder of Hexigone

Stefano Cocchi

Sales Development Manager - Kew Technology

Wednesday: 14.00to15.00 Stage 1

UK REACH – Where Are We in ’23?

BASF Regulatory Affairs Manager - BASF plc

Session Host/Guest Panellists:

Neil Hollis

Regulatory Affairs Manager - BASF plc

James Dancy

Head of UK REACH service and policy - Defra (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)

Mel Biring

Global Regulatory Strategies & Advocacy Manager – LUBRIZOL

Nishma Patel

Policy Director - Chemical Industries Association (CIA)

Chloe Alexander

UK Campaigner CHEM Trust

Darren Abrahams

Partner at Steptoe and Johnson LLP

Ciara Dempsey

Regulatory Affairs Manager - British Coatings Federation (BCF)

Wednesday: 14.00to15.00 Stage 3

Ryan Siddall

Head of Technical, North East Process Industry Cluster (NEPIC)

James Rogers

Site Head, Sterling Pharma Solutions

Will Reynolds

Flow Chemistry Development Chemist, Sterling Pharma Solutions

Stephen Byard

Principal Research Fellow, Science & Technology, Candidate Development, Quotient Sciences

Christine Gardner

Inspection and Packaging Technical Lead, GSK

Dr. Charles Heise

Associate Director - Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnologies

Wednesday: 15.00to16.30 Stage 2

Session Host / Featured Innovators

Chris Hiscocks (Session Host)

Enterprise Manager - Biovale

Aerseeds Ltd – Nature powered solutions for full ecosystem recovery

Bike Ayaskan & Begum Ayaskan, Founders

Matterhorn Studio – Enabling your first step towards AI-driven materials discovery

Jakob Zeitler, Research Scientist at Matterhorn Studio

LiquiBio Ltd – Edible scaffolding to simplify bioprocessing and create better tasting cultivated meat

Elijah Mojares, PhD, Chief Executive Officer

Nova Biochem Ltd – Developing sustainable alternatives to traditional petrochemicals from pulping and agricultural waste streams for flavourings, adhesives, plastics

Alexander Novitskiy CEO and CO-founder

New Wave Biotech – Bioprocess optimisation software to help alternative protein companies get to market quicker, cheaper and better

Zoe Law, CO-Founder & CEO

Mykor – Biotechnology and advanced materials company developing commercially viable and sustainable building materials made from waste and fungi.

Valentina Dipietro

Confirmed Judging Panel includes:


Investment Partner - Future Planet Capital


Partner – Clean Growth Fund


UK Country Manager – Plastics Europe

Stuart Ferguson – Judge

Investor - Sustainable Ventures

Wednesday 15.00to15.30 Stage 4
BCMPA – The Association for Contract Manufacturing, Packing, Fulfilment and Logistics


Panel Host: Emma Verkaik

Membership & Marketing Director - BCMPA – The Association for Contract Manufacturing, Packing, Fulfilment and Logistics

Steve Meyer

Managing Director - Cod Beck Blenders

Dave Roberts

Managing Director, Rutpen Ltd.

Martin Usher

Managing Director - Grotech Production Ltd

Thursday 10.00to11.00 Stage 2

Session Host & Panellists

Dr Anna Zhenova – Session Host

Founder and CEO - Green Rose Chemistry

Dr. Mark Gronnow

Process Development Unit Manager - Biorenewables Development Centre (BDC)

Dr. Yvonne Armitage

Director of Biotechnology, CPI

Dr. Paul Bello

Innovation Lead Industrial Biotechnology, Innovate UK

Dr. Andrew West

Chief Chemist, BioSep Ltd

Dr. Neil Renault

Scale-up Facilities Manager, IBioIC

Thursday 11.00to12.30 Stage 2
Innovate UK KTN

Dr. Sheena Hindocha

Knowledge Transfer Manager for Materials Chemistry - Innovate UK KTN

Jeff Townsend

Founder - Critical Minerals Association

Dr Martyn Cherrington

Innovation Lead - Innovate UK KTN

Dr Matthew Reeves

Knowledge Transfer Manager - Materials Chemistry and Formulation UK - Innovate UK KTN

Professor Julie Staunton

Physics Department - University of Warwick

Dr Emma Schofield

Platinum Group Metals Research Fellow at Johnson Matthey

Dr Fergal Coleman

Ionic Technologies

Dr. Beatriz Domínguez

Dr. Beatriz Domínguez Technical Manager – Biotechnology, Johnson Matthey